Kutztown University 2016 Honors and Awards Ceremony Thursday, April 21, 2016 (MSU 250 4-6pm)

Application Deadline: Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Bartholomew Award in Writing

Funded by a trust donated by Professor Marguerite Bartholomew, who taught English at KU from 1959 to 1977, this award goes to the student who has written the best Freshman English Composition of the year. Applicants may be of any major. Faculty member or student may submit a typed copy of a Freshman English Composition essay written between March 1, 2015, and the present. Essay should not include author's name. Attach cover sheet with name; student number; local, permanent, and e-mail addresses; phone number; essay title; instructor's name. A cash award.

Bennett Harris Humorous Writing Award

Funded by a trust in honor of the late Bennett Harris, Professor of English, this award goes to the writer of the most humorous fiction or nonfiction work. Faculty member or student may submit a typed copy of an essay or story written between March 1, 2015, and the present and not in excess of 2,000 words. Work should not include author's name. Attach cover sheet with name; student number; local, permanent, and email addresses; phone number; title; instructor's name. A cash award.

Deatrick Scholarship Award in English

Funded by a trust donated in 1964 by Anna Louise Mitchell on the 50th anniversary of her graduation from KU and dedicated to the memory of her father, Professor W. W. Deatrick, who taught English here for 32 years. Applicants must intend to teach English and must have either English or Secondary Education/English or Communication as a Major. **Applicants must be at least sophomores. Seniors graduating in May or August 2016 are not eligible**. Submit grade transcripts, representative writing samples, and letter of application, which includes name, age, major, class standing, QPA, service to school and community, and a brief explanation of career goals. **A cash award.**

Emma Richards-Bausch Award in Literary Criticism

Funded by a trust started in 1983 by Professor Emma S. Richards, who taught criticism at KU from 1965 to 1983, this award honors the senior who graduated in December 2015, or expects to graduate in May 2016, who has written the best critical paper of the academic year. Faculty member or student may submit a typed copy of any paper written between March 1, 2015, and the present. Essay should not include author's name. Attach cover sheet with name; student number; local, permanent, and e-mail addresses; phone number; essay title; instructor's name. A cash award.

George K. Monroe Memorial Award in Linguistics

Funded by a trust in honor of the late George K. Monroe, Professor of English, who taught Linguistics and History of the English Language at KU from 1968 to 1996, this award goes to the best student in linguistics during the current year. Submit two papers or class projects and a letter of application with name; student number; local, permanent, and e-mail addresses; and phone number. **A cash award**.

Karen Blomain Award in Fiction

The Karen Blomain Fiction Award will be given to the student writer who has produced the best original piece of prose fiction in short or long forms. This award was established in memory of Prof. Karen Blomain, novelist, poet, and playwright, who taught in the English Department's Professional Writing Program from 1991-2007 and co-advised *Shoofly* for three years. Other student fiction may be submitted for the award by professors or by the student writers themselves.

Keystone Newswriting Award

Established by the English Department faculty to recognize outstanding skill and contributions by a continuing undergraduate student who has written an article or series of articles for *The Keystone* between March 1, 2015, and the present. Submit published clips and a letter of relevant explanation about the work. Include name; student number; local, permanent, and e-mail addresses; and phone number.

Mary S. Kittel Award in Writing for Social and Environmental Justice

This award was established in memory of the late Mary S. Kittel (1969-2004), an English-Professional Writing major, former editor of *The Keystone*, organizer of the first KU Earth Day, and KU alumna who went on to a professional writing career with Rodale Press and authored several health and fitness books. The award will be given to the best essay written between March 1, 2015, and the present on an issue involving the environment, health, education, human rights, or social justice. Faculty member or student may submit a typed copy of the paper. Essay should not include author's name. Attach cover sheet with name; student number; local, permanent, and e-mail addresses; phone number; essay title; instructor's name. A cash award.

Raymond W. Ford Award in Poetry

This award is funded by a trust started in 1996 by Dr. Raymond W. Ford, who chaired the KU English Department from 1962 to 1979, and is given to the best student poet of the current year. Faculty member or student may submit up to two poems written between March 1, 2015, and the present. Poems should not include author's name. Attach cover sheet with name; student number; local, permanent, and e-mail addresses; phone number, poem titles; instructor's name.

A cash award.

Dr. Walter Nott English Scholarship

This award is funded in honor of Dr. Walter Nott, a former KU professor in the English Department. The applicant must be enrolled as a full-time student majoring in English and entering into his/her senior year. Additionally, the applicant should demonstrate dedication to the major of English and have a GPA of 3.0 or higher. Preference will be given to those applicants who intend to continue his or her course of study upon graduation from Kutztown University and to applicants who demonstrate financial need. Interested students should submit an application to the English Awards/ Honors/ Scholarships Committee as soon as possible. Applicants should submit a letter defining their interest in studying literature after graduation, their career goals, and what receiving the scholarship would mean for them. Applicants should also submit their strongest Kutztown University literature paper.

Please submit materials to one of the following faculty members (either in person or in her mailbox):

Dr. Patty Pytleski	Dr. Kristina Fennelly
English Department	English Department
Lytle 163	Lytle 259
Kutztown University	Kutztown University
Kutztown, PA 19530	Kutztown, PA 19530

2016 Honors and Awards (that need no application)

Geiss Award for English Scholarship

Funded by a trust donated in 1965 by writers Newton and Edna Geiss, this award goes to the senior who graduated in August 2015, December 2015, or expects to graduate in May 2016 with the highest quality point average in English.

Hearst Foundation Scholarship in Professional Writing

Given to an English/Professional Writing major who has at least a 3.5 GPA in the major, has earned at least 96 credits, and is a continuing student.

Outstanding English Major Award

Funded by the English Department and the English Association of the Pennsylvania State Universities, this award goes to the most outstanding English major who is a junior or senior. Students are nominated and then voted on by English Department faculty.

Ruth Bonner Scholarship

Funded by Ruth Bonner, Class of 1921, to provide scholarship aid to a worthy English Major with financial need who has earned at least 90 credits, has an overall QPA equivalent to B+ and a major QPA of A.